All information about the Estonian Presidency is on the website This website is no longer updated.

Estonia holds the presidency of the Council of the EU over the second half of 2017. During the presidency, Estonia is responsible for defining the Council’s positions while taking into account the interests of all member states and remaining neutral at the same time. This is definitely a worthy task for Estonia as it celebrates its anniversary, the centenary of the Republic of Estonia, in 2018.

The presidency of the Council of the European Union rotates among the EU member states every 6 months. Estonia has picked up the baton of the presidency from the Malta and delivers it to Bulgaria 6 months later.

The three consecutive presidencies agree among themselves which fields to turn more attention to on the European level. This ensures that important topics remain in focus over the course of 18 months. Estonia is in one Presidency trio with Bulgaria and Austria.